The Monk Class For D&D 5th Edition (5e)

Monk in the game of D&D is one of the most iconic martial artist and playable characters who love to punch things usually come around in its way. Monk 5e is human covered in tattoos who work as great defenders and strikers in the D&D 5th edition game.

They typically are being used as fighters only who love to blast fire roars from its mouth by engulfing its foes. Monk D&D 5e can live in the union while magically harnessing the energy following in their bodies.

They are one of the most disciplined creatures whose striking display of combat powers was as subtler focuses on the defensive ability and speed.

Monk 5e D&D

Monk 5e is a non-armour character that generally uses simple weapons and shortswords to fight against their enemies. They love to play on a particular type of artisan’s tools or one musical instrument.

Monk 5e

Strength, Dexterity is some of its most exceptional saving throws. If we talk about its skills Acrobatics, Athletics history, Insight, Religion, and Stealth are some of its mindblowing skills from where one can easily choose two while creating their Monk for the game.

What weapons usually Monk 5e uses?

Monk D&D 5e are generally unarmed characters who prefer to fight against their enemies using their martial arts skills. You have to practice hard to master those martial arts skills over unarmed strikes and monk weapons such as shortswords and simple melee weapons.

What is Ki in the game?

Ki is mystic energy that is acquired by the Monk 5e in its 2nd level. The power of monk is expressed in terms of Ki it has. More will be the number of Ki more will be the power and vice versa. The amount of Ki’s present in monk indicates the level of monk.

Once you get short of Ki you need to take short or extended rest to draw or get back all of your expended Ki back into yourself. One must need to get rest least for thirty minutes to acquire one Ki in the game.

The Ki Saving Throw DC is usually calculated as 8 + your proficiency bonus +your wisdom modifier

You are given three Ki at the beginning of the game that you can use one immediately for taking Attack action of a flurry of blows, one for making the Dodge action for patient defence and one for taking the Disengage or Dash Action as a step of wind as a bonus action.

What are the main features of Monk 5e?

Monk D&D 5e is upgraded with various advanced unusual features to acquire some extra points in the game. You have to build up your preferred monk to do best in the game. Some of the most amazing features of Monk 5e are:

  • Unarmored: As we have mentioned to you earlier that Monk 5e includes no armour it will use its martial arts skills to get a lead in the game. The speed increases upon entering the 2nd level of the game while you will be wearing no armour. You can quickly move through the game unarmored up to 9th level, but after that, you need to make use of reliable, upright surface or risk falling to move ahead in the game.
  • Monastic: Monk 5e usually tends to follow a particular monastic tradition up to level 3. but on entering the next levels such as 3rd, 6th, 11th and 17th level you can opt for the another one depending upon your requirement and preferences.
  • Deflect Missiles: Monk 5e remained unarmored till level 3rd, but once you get it, you can make use of any ranged weapon attack to deflect or catch the missile.
  • Ability score improvement: Monk 5e is usually free to raise one ability score into your account by 2 and two ability scores by one each on entering 4th, 8th, 12th, 16th, and 19th levels of the game. Moreover, a monk can’t raise thee scores more than 20 using this ability score improvement function.
  • Slow Fall: Users are free to access the associated reaction at level 4 to control the falling damage five times much faster which means that the energy level of your monk will fall very slowly now.
  • Extra Attack: The action rate also gets doubles on the turn at level 5.
  • Stunning Strike: – Users are free to interrupt the flow of Ki from level 5.
  • Ki Strikes: Usage of unarmed strikes at 6th level magically overcomes the resistance and immunity usually coming from the nonmagical attacks.
  • Evasion: The power of avoidance developed at level 7 that enables you to dodge out of the way of certain attacks.
  • The stillness of mind: Your monk is free to use silence of mind feature at level 7 to remain calm in various situations, whether if someone tries to frightened they or it is a moment of extreme happiness.
  • The purity of Body: Monk 5e usually attains the level of purity of body at 10th level. His/her body achieves extreme immunity to fight against diseases and poisons, and hence the level of energy ultimately rises.
  • The tongue of Sun and Moon: Monk D&D 5e usually attain the power of mind readiness when he/she reached level 13. He just by touching the Ki of other minds becomes able to understand all the languages usually spoken around him/her.
  • Diamond Soul: Monk 5e attains the mastery in all saving throws at level 14.
  • Timeless Body: Monk 5e attains an eternal body on reaching level 15, where no frailty of old age can affect his body. Monk can further no need to take any food or water and can die of old age but shows no features externally.
  • Empty Body: Monk 5e attains the magical powers of getting invisible at least for 1 minute just by spending 4 Ki points on it at level 18. The body of monk 5e becomes full resistant to all the damages caused by the enemies except force damage that they still can’t bear on.
  • Perfect Self: On reaching the level of D&D 5e, if your monk 5e left with no Ki points and have roll initiative to go along with their account will automatically be credited with 4 Ki points to move further with the process.

Hit Points

Hit Dice: 1d8 per monk level
Hit Points at 1st Level: 8 + your Constitution modifier
Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d8 (or 5) + your Constitution modifier per monk level after 1st


Armour: None
Weapons: Simple weapons, shortswords
Tools: Choose one type of artisan’s tools or one musical instrument
Saving Throws: Strength, Dexterity
Skills: Choose two from Acrobatics, Athletics, History, Insight, Religion, and Stealth


Speak Your Mind